Easter Holiday Weekend
Easter Holiday weekend starts today, Good Friday. A great time to take a break, celebrate with friends and family, and enjoy the scent of spring in the air. With each holiday, however, comes the temptation to enjoy a few alcoholic beverages and then drive home. According to the Foundation for Advancing Alcohol Responsibility, 1,446 people in Texas died in drunk driving accidents in 2014. Crashes involving someone under the age of 21 driving while under the influence accounted for 193 deaths. An estimated 70% of impaired drivers in fatal accidents had blood-alcohol concentrations (BAC) of 0.15 or higher.
In 2014, drunk driving fatalities increased by 8.2% from the prior year, yet the number of arrests decreased. Of the 70,842 Texans arrested for drunk driving in 2014, 434 were younger than 18.
How Strict are DWI’s Laws in Texas?
According to Texas law, being intoxicated while driving means having a BAC of 0.08 or higher. A typical drinker can achieve that level of drunkenness from having two or three drinks in an hour.
Whether you are the driver or a passenger, you can be fined up to $500 for having an open alcohol container in a vehicle in Texas. You can be charged with child endangerment for driving while intoxicated if any passengers are 15 or younger. DWI with a child passenger is punishable by a fine as high as $10,000, up to two years in a state jail and loss of driver’s license for 180 days. Punishment for a general DWI is based on the number of convictions.
1st Offense: A fine of up to $2,000, three days to 180 days in jail, loss of driver’s license up to a year. Annual fee of $1,000 or $2,000 for three years to retain driver license.
2nd Offense: A fine of up to $4,000, one month to a year in jail, loss of driver’s license up to two years Annual fee of $1,000 – $2,000 for three years to retain driver’s license.
3rd Offense: A $10,000 fine, two to 10 years in prison, loss of driver’s license up to two years. Annual fee of $1,000 – $2,000 for three years to retain driver’s license.
Hit by a Drunk Driver, What Now?
Anyone hit by a drunk driver is recommended to seek legal help from a personal injury attorney. Car accidents can bring a mountain of problems. Medical bills, time loss from work due to injuries, can leave victims with a financial burden. Insurance companies can deny claims and add to the chaos of the aftermath. A personal injury or car wreck attorney can provide the legal help to get the financial support you need to get life back on track.
Davis Law Firm is here 24/7 to listen to everyone’s case. Our legal representatives offer free consultations at no risk to you. If you or a loved one has been injured by a distracted or drunk driver contact us today! We have offices in San Antonio, Corpus Christi, McAllen, Harlingen, Brownsville and Waco, Texas! Call the 4’s or Call the 9’s! 210-444-4444 / 956-444-4444 / 361-999-9999.